Wednesday, 11 October 2017

THE EXPELLED - No Life No Future EP 1982 + Government Policy 7'' 1982 + Waiting For Tomorrow 12'' 1984

The Expelled are a punk rock band which formed July 1981 in Leeds, England. After gigging around Leeds the band signed a record deal with Riot City Records after Rick Fox gave a demo tape to the drummer of Vice Squad, (one of the groups chief influences). They went on to release a three track extended player and a single both in 1982, and then do a John Peel session on BBC Radio 1 in December 1982. Ball left in 1983 and the band tried out several female vocalists, touring with one (Jewlie) and recording two songs with another (Penny, a girlfriend of Vice Squad guitarist Dave Bateman), before deciding to carry on as a three piece with McEvoy taking over on vocals. The new line-up recorded four tracks for an unreleased 12", 'Waiting for Tomorrow', before Riot City Records ran into financial problems and the band split in May 1984. Here we have now all their 80's recordings by this fantastic UK Punkrock Pioneers.