Friday, 15 November 2019

IMPULSE MANSLAUGHTER - He Who Laughs Last... Laughs Alone 1987

Ahhhh, when I start listening to hardcore I can't choose another sound, so keep it up with Impulse Manslaughter, a crossover band from Chicago, Illinois, which was founded in 1984 under the name Liberty Cabbage and disbanded in 1993. They were one of the first bands to sign a contract with the German label Nuclear Blast. The band was founded on New Year's Eve 1984 in the basement of drummer Glen Herman with bassist Chris Hanley. A short time later they changed their name and singer Karl Patton and guitarist Randy Sorkin came to the cast. Randy, however, left the band a short time later and was replaced by guitarist Dan. It followed the first appearances in Chicago, as well as other places in the Midwestern. In the fall of 1986, the band went into the studio to record the first EP Burn One Naked & Nuke ItAfter the release left guitarist Dan the band, so Hanley switched from bass to electric guitar. As a new bassist Nick Stevens joined the band. This was followed by a tour on the east coast of the USA. After the tour began work on the debut album He Who Laughs Last... Laughs Alone, which was released on Underdog Records, in Europe via Nuclear Blast. Until the release, the band held another tour through the US. Since Nick Stevens was considered not particularly reliable, guitarist Mike Schäffer was added to the cast. This allowed Hanley to take over the bass if Stevens did not appear. Later Schaffer left the band again to join the band Abomination. Before leaving the band, two more songs were recorded for Metal Blade's new Labe, which bore the name Death Records. The song Pills appeared on the compilation Complete Death 2. It also appeared on the European version of He Who Laugh's Last... Laughs Alone, along with the song Piss Me Off. To replace Stevens bassist Vince Vogel came to the band, which Hanley could permanently switch back to the electric guitar. In this cast they recorded the next album called Logical End. The album was released in the US via Walkthrufyre Records and in Europe via Nuclear Blast. During the recording Hanley left the band, followed a short time later singer Patton. The new guitarist was John Tolczyk and vocalist Guy Aitchinson. As the sound of the music had changed dramatically due to the line-up changes, the band decided to change their name briefly in Vermicious Knids. They changed their name back soon and singer Patton was back in the cast. Following the release of the album, a tour of Europe followed along with Rostok Vampires. Since Nuclear Blast was still inexperienced in the planning of tours, the tour ended in disaster because performances were badly prepared or had to fail. As a result, members left the band. First, Hanley left the tour, followed a few weeks later by Herman and singer Patton.

However, this didn't mean the end of the band. As new drummer Dan Duchaine came to the cast, as new guitarist came Rob Lanam. After being out and about for nearly two years, the band recorded EP Sometimes in 1991, released through Nuclear Blast's label Mind Control Records. During the recording Tolczyk left the band, as he dedicated more to his side project, so that the band consisted of only four members. This was followed by the split release No War with the German band Provocation. Rob Lanam did not show up for the rehearsal, so Rick McKelvy played for him and joined the band as another member. After a tour through the US, as well as some performances in Canada, the band broke up in 1993, after drummer Duchaine and bassist Vogel had left the band.

After the separation, some members went back to the studio to make a final recording. However, this recording was not released until 2004 as a compilation Live @ WFMU on Beer City Records.

- Great Thx to Fredrik -

No comments:

Post a comment