Tuesday, 1 March 2016

VAAVI - Hei Anne 7'' + Tytöt Hymyilee 7'' + Nimi EP 1980

It is March, hopefully it soon becomes warmer, Fuck Winter! Let's move to the glory days of early punk stuff with this cracker: Vaavi was formed in summer 1978, when ex-Uutiset ja Sää members guitarist Kari Hipponen and drummer Tommi Micklin joined forces with bassist Jari 'Iku' Viitanen from Jawa. The original vocalist Jorma Nurminen only stayed for a couple of months, but he was the one who came up with the name for the band. In spring 1979 they were one of the finalists in the new wave category of the Finnish rock championship competition, held in Seinäjoki. They only played a ten minute set and finished second, Ratsia being the winner. They released their first single 'Mihin Jäi Punk?' in 1979 on Rokit Records and in May they recorded a song for the Hilse compilation. The band's style is a classic 'romantic' melodic '77 punk sound and not inspired by the Ramones, as so many Finnish punk bands of that time. Vaavi found their own style from the beginning and you can hear that. The band released two albums, a couple of 7inches, many line-up changes were made and they played their final gig in 1988. On this record: Ilkka (vocals), Kari (guitar), Iku (bass) and Tommi (drums), all three pieces released on Johanna Records, eight superb tracks.

- Special Thanx to Fredrik -

No comments:

Post a Comment